You’ve read countless self-improvement books trying to boost your motivation, but nothing has changed so far.

You don’t understand what’s wrong with you as you struggle even to do basic things. The work that you used to enjoy now feels like punishment. You hate going to work and you feel like quitting.

So, to change things around, you research Maslow’s hierarchy of needs.

You want to know what motivates human behavior and how to stay motivated.

Keep reading to learn what are Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs and how it is helpful to keep in mind.

What Are the 5 Levels of Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs?

Abraham Maslow was an American psychologist who developed a theory classifying human needs into five categories. He claimed that once a person’s needs in a given category are fulfilled, the motivation level drops. So, to stay motivated, the person must now work towards achieving the needs in a higher category.

Here are the five levels of Maslow’s hierarchy of needs:

1. Physiological Needs

These are needs essential for human survival and include things such as food, shelter, and clothing. When at this level, a person is willing to do almost anything to survive. So, people at this level are ready and motivated to do any work to raise money for food or shelter.

2. Safety Needs

Once you fulfill physiological needs, it becomes hard to stay motivated doing the same work that just provides for these needs. You move to the next tier of safety needs. Here you need to feel safe and secure.

That’s when you start looking for work that offers job security. Besides, at this stage, you’ll start looking for homes in secure neighborhoods.

3. Sense of Belonging

The third level of Maslow’s hierarchy of needs involves having a sense of belonging and feeling loved. You want to feel that you’re part of a community. You start chasing after friendships and romantic attachments.

4. Esteem Needs

Once the bottom three levels have been fulfilled, they’re no longer motivating, and now you start chasing esteem needs. At this level, you’re chasing after respect and appreciation. You want to be recognized for your achievement and receive a job title.

5. Self-Actualization

Self-actualization is the highest level, and very few people reach it. At this level, a person is now living to their full potential. Persons at this level are widely known and recognized for their amazing achievements.

Why Is It Helpful to Keep Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs in Mind?

Learning what are Maslow’s hierarchy of needs is key to knowing what drives your actions at given stages. You know why you struggle to stay motivated once you achieve the needs at a given level. So, you need to know how to adjust your needs by moving to the next tier, thereby boosting your motivation.

Do you desire to know more about what drives your behavior and how to stay motivated? Is depression keeping your motivation low? Then please reach out to our qualified therapist to book an individual therapy session including depression therapy.

Skip to content